jump to navigation

My Android Hat! October 14, 2012

Posted by misscraftyfingers in Crafts, Free Pattern, Knitting.
Tags: , ,
trackback

WOW! been a while since I made anything! :P

With all the law suits going on with Apple suing Samsung for their Android phones in the past month, being the big fan of Android as I am, I decided to make myself an Android hat (in case I have to go to some Halloween dress up party, I can go as an Android green robot). :D And the great thing about Androids as opposed to Apple is that, you can make cute things out of the green robot but you can’t really make anything cute looking like that half eaten fruit! :p

I made the hat twice. First time, I tried with the top down method. Knit a flat circle then extend downwards. But it didn’t fit me very well. MY HEAD IS TOO BIG! So I tried a 2nd time. This time just a bottom up basic beanie.

After some adjustments, it is finally wearable! YAY!

AND NOW, I AM SHARING THIS FREE PATTERN WITH YOU!!!!! :):):)

What you need

4.5mm double pointed & cable knitting needles

Green yarn (TLC cotton plus solid in kiwi)

White yarn (TLC cotton plus solid in white)

stitch marker

some white felt

yarn needle

sewing needle with some white thread

Pattern

CO 108 stitches on the cable knitting needles, join the round.

Ribbed rows – white yarn

knit 2, purl 2 around, repeat till the ribbed rows are about 1 inch

use a stitch marker to mark start of each row.

Stockinette rows – green  yarn

switch to green yarn and work in stockinette stitch till the stockinette stitch rows are about 4 inches.

Reducing rows – switch to double pointed needles

After the 4 inches of stockinette rows, start reducing every 12 stitches around

ie. knit 10, knit 2 stitches together, knit the next row

reduce row – knit 9, knit 2 together, repeat till end of row, knit the next row

keep reducing every alternate row, ie. reduce row, k8, k2tgo, repeat till end, k next row, k7, k2tgo, repeat till end, k next row, k6, k2tgo … etc …..

reduce till you are left with 9 stitches, pull yarn through the remaining 9 stitches and sew ends in.

My gauge is 5 stitches per inch. I have a large head, so the above measurements matches my head! It may be too big for you! Alternatively, you can use any other basic beanie pattern you prefer, in your preferred type of yarn and needle size to fit your head! :P

Antennas

pick 3 stitches at 1 side of the yarn, icord for 10 rows, bind off on 11th row

repeat on other side of hat.

Eyes

cut 2 round circles of white felt and sew onto the hat slightly above the ribbed rows.

Sew in all yarn ends.

Note: You can customize the size of your hat with your preferred yarn choice. Do check out my next post for instructions!

There you go! AN ANDROID HAT! YAY!

p/s: I’m not an Apple basher … I have 4 iPods! :p

Comments»

1. savanrac - May 20, 2013

Love this!! Too cute!! ;)

2. alyceen - September 3, 2013

Awesome <3 I am definetly going to make one for me.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

